Day 8 – Mistaken Impression

Success seems to be connected with action. Successful people keep moving. They make mistakes, but they don’t quit.  ~ Conrad Hilton

Everyone makes mistakes and everyone has bad days. When we make mistakes often times we give ourselves the wrong impression, and those negative tapes start rolling and play and replay in our minds until they drive us absolutely insane.  During these times it is of utmost important to be gentle with ourselves.
Whenever we are learning something new, we have setbacks. Like when you first learned to ride a bike, I’m sure you were like the rest of us. You fell at least once right? Did you stop trying to ride the bike or beat yourself up and tell yourself bad things? Nope, you took inventory did I lean too far to the left, did I lean too far to the right? You look to see what you did wrong, and then you fixed it until you learned how to ride the bike.
Therefore, mistakes are the first step in learning. And, the good news is SUCCESS come from mistakes. Why? Because now we can learn something new. Choose to feel energized, excited, challenged, and motivated. Then, we can enable ourselves to get busy and be more positive and optimistic.
If we choose to get stuck because we made a mistake, it can cause us to slip further into regret, depression, anger and/or procrastination. The bottom line is if we dwell on the mistake instead of the lesson, we are not taking the necessary action to change.  Our rules for mistakes need closer examination.  The best opportunity to learn exactly what those rules are is to observe and listen to what we you say to ourselves when we make one.  If we don’t like what we hear – then we need to change the mental tapes. Then take action and get back on track!

Our mantra needs to be I forgive myself for all my mistakes.  Ironically, I have found the more I practice forgiving myself the easier it is for me not only to forgive others but recognize making mistakes is human.  Why is this important for manifesting?  Because it helps us to stay on the top half of the emotional scale and experience more feelings of joy, love, appreciation, and empowerment.  And, love is the most powerful attractive force there is to attract more of what we want in our life.  Practicing to forgive ourselves and others in my opinion is an act of love.

I invite you to forgive yourself and others and let the past be just that the past. We can choose to chew on the past or feast on the future any time we are faced with the mistakes we make or the mistakes of others.  We can choose to feel right and/or entitled that we were wronged or we can choose to forgive and love.  We are all way too magnificent and awesome to be burdened with mistaken impressions when we make a mistake or when others make one.  We need to let go and love more to unleash the power within to create the life we deeply desire.

How do you handle making mistakes?  Is it easy for you to forgive yourself?  Is it easy for you to forgive others?  Also, what does forgiveness look like for you?

4 Comments

  1. I agree that it’s important to let go of the mistakes that we make and others and accept our shortcomings. But I’ve found that I sometimes have a hard time letting go of the expectations I have of others to be better and learn from their mistakes. Some people just aren’t willing or ready to do that while I like pushing myself to be better. I’ve learned I can’t expect others to handle things in a similar manner.

    Reply

    1. You make an excellent point Kara and I couldn’t agree with you more. I find it to be very challenging to deal with all the emotions that surface for me when I see people “beat their heads against the wall until the white meat shows.” And, even more difficult to let go when the same mistakes made impact me negatively in some way.

      Ironically, when I was driving from the doctor’s office this morning I found myself in conversation with myself pondering the question “Does it matter in the grand scheme of things”? And exploring the thought of how different my life might be if I approached each and every person and situation with the commitment that no matter what I see and/or experience, that my main priority is to feel good.

      I can’t help but wonder….if it would reflect “Don’t sweat the small stuff, and it’s all small”. If only I could train myself to let that be my default thinking.

      Reply

      1. Yes, that’s a great way to look at things, especially when you’re basing everything on your priority to feel good. Not sweating the small stuff can be easier said than done at times, but we’ve got to try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

