Day 14 – In Prison Though Not Behind Bars

prison (2) Are you the man or woman you want to be? If not, then what are you now?  You’re a prisoner though not behind bars.  You’re imprisoned by present concepts.  You go to sleep each night as the man or woman that you do not want to be.  So you’re in prison.   But you say “I’m not like the fellow in Sing Sing.  I’m not behind bars.”

Need money? You may not be behind jail bar doors. But you’re still behind.  Behind on rent, behind on this, behind on that, behind on bills for credit cards, etc.  While not behind physical bar, you’re still behind and can’t seem to find the sum of money to pay it off to get out of financial prison.

Sometimes our faith/imagination can take a real brow beating from “reason”.  And, each time we allow “reason” to overrule our faith, we place ourselves back into prison.  What is reason?  Reason at a very basic level is essentially an extract conclusion from premises.

So why must my premises always be based upon the evidence of my senses?  Why must they always dictate what is rational for me?  Why do I hold on to reason so tightly that I can’t let go and put myself where I want to be?  Why do I allow reason to imprison me and keep me from the freedom to be the woman I want to be?

Reason tells us that something should be done or should be a certain way.  How can I dare to assume otherwise and free myself from this self imposed freedom?  One of my favorite books in the Bible, The Epistle of James, hold some clues for us.  I believe the teachings of Scripture but not doctrine.  Therefore,  I’m not coming from a religious dogma standpoint but a spiritual application standpoint with my references.

be a doer

In James 1:22 – 25, James admonishes us to be doers of the word and not hearers only because hearers are like a man who beholds himself in the mirror and immediately forgets what manner a man he is but a man who looks into the perfect law of liberty and continues in it is a doer of the work.  And that man will be blessed in his deed.   What this says to me is that I must affix my mind on God/Universe to provide how my emancipation will take place and I must continue to hold this vision and  persevere in it until it comes to past.

In other words, I must dare to believe I’m free and rearrange my mind to support this concept.  I must dare to be the woman that I would be…a free woman.  I must do and persist.  I simply must do it.   My mantra being I did it, I’m doing it, I will continue to do it until that which I have done has perfectly externalized within my world.  Mark 11:24 says “Therefore I say unto you, What things soever ye desire, when ye pray, believe that ye receive them, and ye shall have them.” Thus making the thing become alive within us – Acting AS IF.


James 2:17 tells us that faith without works is dead.  Not to be confused with works alone is needed.  But that works is evidence of faith I profess is alive or dead.   This type of faith leads us to ask questions like “If I really believed I was debt free, what and where would I be?”, “What would my feelings be like if it were true?”,  “How would my decisions be different?”, “My actions?” and we dare to assume it and persevere in it.

If we believe it and then an hour later we are not persevering, then we’re the hearer and not the doer.

indecisiveJames also tells about when the double minded man comes your way who is unstable in all his ways give him nothing.  Besides, what do you give a man that doesn’t know what he wants?  One speaker said he put this to the test when he was dining out.  He asked the waiter how much did he want as a tip and told his friend who was dining with him that he would give the waiter what he asked for within reason not to exceed a hundred dollars.  The waiter was unable to tell him.  He had no concept of what he wanted.

If we have not mastered this already, we must learn how to go beyond our senses.  And, we must do this with the understanding that what we now know from experience, what we know from the past, will not be what we know when we know more than what we know now.  We need to look at any data perceived my our senses and say “It doesn’t matter” or “It’s not my concern” and look into the perfect law of liberty and persevere.

We need to try it, try it, try it every moment of time with the question “What do I want to be?” and then assume we are it.  We need to dare assume it is true and persevere until it hardens into fact.  Otherwise, we sentence ourselves to prison to continue living in a state we do not want.

I invite you to answer the question what do you want to be, assume you are it, and persevere until you are blessed in your deed.

Your thoughts?

 

 

Leave a Reply

