Day 30 – Are you Experimenting Enough?!?

Beakers__Cover

 

Do not be too timid and squeamish about your actions.  All life is an experiment.  The more experiments you make the better. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Being alive is an amazing experience!  And, one surefire way to develop a life of value filled with joy and happiness that is entirely OURS outside of  relationships, jobs, family, etc is to get excited about what’s all out there in life and embrace experimenting with our lives.

Seeing life as an adventure in this way infuses it with joy, passion, and happiness.  We need to stop shortchanging ourselves and living our lives in quiet desperation as Henry David Thoreau said going to the grave with the song still in us.  The single most important thing we need to remember is life begins at the end of our comfort zoneThe real juice in life is finding something  we love to do and learn everything we can about it, trying new things, and exploring new places.

Variety truly is the spice of life.  When we allow routine and comfort to take the wheels and go on autopilot doing basically the same things day in and day out, we’re mentally allowing ourselves to take the back seat in our own lives. Consequently, putting us in a situation where we are no longer deliberately choosing our paths in life, but being chosen by them.

Don’t let this happen! The reason we allow these kinds of thoughts in our heads is because they make us feel better by giving us a false sense of security through our need to have certainty in our lives.  But, we also have a polar opposite need for uncertainty too.  The truth is this type of living is only masquerading as a feel-good kind of life, when in reality while we may feel complacent, we are also bored and have way too much time on our hands to feed our doubts and fears.

By being proactive and taking control, really taking control, we have a better shot at discovering what makes us genuinely happy, what sets our souls on fire, and what emblazons pure red-hot passion within us by experimenting with our lives.  I agree with Mark Twain when he said “Twenty years form now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.  So throw off bowlines.  Sail away from the safe harbor.  Catch the trade winds in your sails.  Explore – Dream – Discover!”

Eleanor Roosevelt said it best….

The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.

Life is calling each of us ….how high will you FLY???  Life is about choices.  How many new ones are you willing to choose?   Life isn’t about finding ourselves. It’s about creating ourselves.  Are you willing to experiment to become the person you want to be?  Living the life you want to live?  Life is about using the whole box of crayons and coloring outside of the lines as well as inside of the lines.

Robin Sharma said “When you see yourself as a powerful creator of your conditions, you’ll see opportunities to get to your goals-and dreams- all around you.” I wholeheartedly agree with her because what we seek is seeking us.   It’s time for us to sing the song that is within us to the top of our lungs!  It’s time for us to play outside the lines!  It’s time for us to move outside of our comfort zones!  It’s time for us to have fun and excitement!  It’s time for us to experiment!!

Are you experimenting enough?

best dayDid you enjoy this article?  If so, click like and let me know.  Or better yet leave a comment….I would love hearing from you.  To sweeten the pot for each comment or like received for this article I will try a new experiment in life outside my comfort zone this summer.  HA!  Encourage me to experiment more. 😉

6 Comments

  1. I have always been a “good” girl. As I get older, I do regret not having colored outside the lines. I am trying to venture outside of my comfort zone. I hope that you will blog about your adventures.

    Reply

    1. Thanks Claire for your comment! Indeed I will an in honor of your comment…I’m going to go outside my comfort zone and buy a costume for a Roaring 20s mixer this coming Sunday. This should prove to be interesting. 😉

      Reply

      1. Well I took up the challenge and tried frog legs for the first time today.
        Have fun tonight!

      2. Oh wow! That made me laugh so hard. Cool beans and kudos to you. I had those as a kid. I hope you liked them! And, hope you have fun too! 😀

  2. For the first like I received….. in honor of your like I will be adding a Hire Me page to my blog by Sunday night. Thanks for encouraging me to live outside my comfort zone. I’ve been talking myself out of doing it for weeks now. Muchas gracias! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Thanks for another like! For the second like I received….in honor of your like I will be asking 3 different guys for their phone number by Tuesday. Thanks for encouraging me to live outside my comfort zone.

    I’ve been complaining about my dating life. Thanks for encouraging me to live outside my comfort zone. I haven’t asked a guy for his number in over 3 years…it’s time. Thanks again! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

