Day 41 – Things Turn Out Best

indexThings don’t always turn out the way that we want them.  And, oftentimes this leave us with all kinds of questions as to why it didn’t/isn’t this happening for me.  I know when life doesn’t deliver me what I want I find myself experiencing a myriad of emotions.

I think it’s human nature to be drawn into the allure of wanting what we can’t have.  It’s amazing how whatever it is in our psychology that drives us in this manner can totally take over us and consume us with the wanting.

A lot of people get so hung up on what they can’t have that they don’t think for a second about whether they really want it. – Lionel Shriver

So much to the point that we get so hung up on what we can’t have that we don’t think for a second about whether we want it or not.  However, once we distance ourselves from the idea of having to have it, we can receive a rush of clarity.

Many times over I have been besieged by a great desire to have various things/people/situations in my life.  And, felt down right cheated when it didn’t happen for me.  Even had the nerve to lament everybody else gets what they want from life but me.  Really?  Now how absurd is that line of thinking?

However, there is one quote that I lean on during times like these.  Thank you Robert Frost for your timeless wise words….”In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.”

When studying the laws of the Universe, it is easy to get caught up and think everything I want I can make it happen the way that I want.  But, in hindsight I’m starting think this is not necessarily true because if it was true there would be no need for Law of Acceptance.

The opening quote I believe captures the essence of the Law of Acceptance.  While yes we can very much create the life that we want I also believe there are some things we have to accept and that is sometimes we’re simply not going to get what we want.

And, it’s okay.  It’s at these times we need to make the best of the way things turn out.  While sometimes this is very difficult and painful to accept, we must push through.

I agree with Ernest Dempsey when he said, “By working through these difficult changes in life, we grow into something new, better, stronger and emerge on the other side more beautiful and wise than we ever imagined.”

We may not see it at the time but things really do turn out for the best.  And, hold strong to knowledge “That all things work together for the good.”  In other words, if we trust the process in the end we’ll see the best was yet to come.

images

Leave a Reply

