Writing 101, Day 18: This Happens to Good People?

young girl

I enjoy sitting on the stoop in front of our house and it’s a place where all I do is observe the world around me and focus on the thoughts that come as a result. Funny thing is I’ve always thought of it as something fun to do to pass time when mom says “get out of this house and get some fresh air”. However, in my Social Studies class I learned it goes much deeper than that because in Native American culture this is similar to what they call a vision quest.

And, a vision quest is a rite of passage in some Native American cultures. It is one of the most universal and ancient means to find spiritual guidance and purpose. And, a vision quest can provide deep understanding of one’s life purpose. Hmmmmmm….I wonder if this is why so many of the old folks say that I’m wise beyond my years?

Well anyway, yesterday I was sitting on my stoop and what happens? Mrs. Pauley was put out of her house by the police! I saw it with my own two eyes but I still couldn’t believe what I was seeing. Mrs. Pauley has lived in her house for forty years! One day when I went to her house to have lemonade and cookies with her, she shared with me how she raised six boys and how much she loved them and how proud she was of them all.

She seemed like such a nice and kind lady. Grown folks always say good things happen to good people and to be good to others. But, it doesn’t look like life remembered to be good to Mrs. Pauley. Shucks when things like this happen it’s all too confusing what to believe and how to make sense of life. This lady seems like a really nice lady and has been her house for forty years, shouldn’t that count for something?

How does the police just come and say to her “No, you can’t live here anymore!” And, to do this to this old lady three months after husband died. This is all too confusing to make sense of it all. Anyway, I overheard mom and dad discussing it last night while cleaning they were cleaning the kitchen. They said Mrs. Pauley had no income and she had fallen behind on her rent.

They went on to say that they couldn’t understand why one of those six grown boys of hers didn’t pitch in to help out their mom. I agree with them too, how do six grown kids let their momma be put out off her house? I remember my mom’s response to my dad was”Six boys at that”. And, then my dad agreed with her and went on to say something about men being providers blah, blah, blah….all that went over my head..I didn’t quite understand all of that.

All I know is this; I am making a vow to myself that this will never ever happen to me. I won’t rely on a man, whether he is my husband and/or my sons to take care of me. I don’t know what dad meant by it’s a man’s responsibility to be a provider. But, clearly it is best to depend on yourself when it comes to money matters so you won’t be put out of your house. Yep, that’s my takeaway I will do whatever is within my power to protect what belongs to me so that it can’t be taken away from me.

If it’s to be it’s up to me is my motto from now on. Granddaddy has always said “Where there is a will, there is a way.” I have a will to help Ms. Pauley. I’m going to make a plea on facebook to raise money to help Ms. Pauley stay in her home!

Leave a Reply

