Day 50 – Look Deep into Nature…..

natureI found this to be true.  I went on a mini adventure on yesterday.  I took a day trip to an area about an hour to hour and half outside of the city in which I lived.  I got a late start and wasn’t able to pack in as much as I had originally planned so I will definitely return to this area again.

Typically I hate shopping but on yesterday I enjoyed ducking in and out of the numerous shops they have at this particular outlet mall.  And actually scored a cute outfit that I will definitely be wearing in the upcoming week.  But the highlight of my trip was to a state park well known to this area.

The park itself wasn’t anything spectacular but a nice state park.  However, I embarked on a hike to view the tallest water fall for our state.  There were two paths to choose from and the lady told me to go to the left.  However, when I left the visitor center and arrived at the beginning of the trails, the one to the left didn’t seem right to me so I chose to go to the right.

the start

The opening to the trail to the right

Oh boy was I in for a treat.  I inadvertently went on my first hike ever and it was 2.3 mile hike with steep hills and rough terrain.  It seemed like it went on and on on and on forever.  After awhile just looking at tree trunks, dirt, and rocks became monotonous, but finally I reached a clearing and was able to get a view of something else.  It was simply breathtaking and I was reminded of the abundance of God and God’s goodness.  I was immediately reminded God’s resources are infinite.

First opening

“Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.” – Lao Tzu

Seeing the majestic beauty of the mountains through that clearing sustained me for a little while but I noticed that not being able to gauge how close I was to my goal caused me feelings of intense impatience.  I continued to ask the folks that I was passing “please tell me am I almost there?”  and they would let me know how close I was to reaching the top of the falls.  I decided to take a snapshot of my view at the point I was feeling the most anxious to already be done with it.

how much farther

ARE WE THERE YET?

 

Highest Point

View from the last clearing before reaching the top

I continued on because I know it would’ve taken much more energy to retreat than to continue forward.  So I started talk to give myself positive self talk and make the most of my time on my journey to the top.  I found a beautiful rock along the way and kept it.   And, started to redirect my attention to where I was at any given moment.  Well, I finally reached the top and oh my it was simply a glorious site to behold although my pictures don’t do it just at all.

falls

View from the top of the falls.

I couldn’t see much of the fall from top.  But it was wonderful to hear the gushing sounds of the water.  I found it totally relaxing and the summer breeze kissed my face over and over again.  It was worth the 2.3 mile hike to the top indeed.  After making inquiries, I was told about the other path I didn’t choose so I decided to take it on the way down because I wanted to see more of the waterfall.

Glad I didn’t take this one to begin with, it included 170 steps!   At this point my legs were killing me and it took everything I had to descend down the 170 steps but I did it.  Again, I had to give myself a lot of self talk because again I had no idea how long it was going to take me to finally be done with all of those stairs.  But I finally made it to the end of the stairs and again it was simply breathtaking.

falls 2Overall this was a really fun and adventurous day for me.  It was tiring but fun.  I learned a lot about myself and engaged in a lot of reflection about life.  I emerged with renewed conviction and clarity after communing with nature.  And, I took action today on the clarity I received yesterday.  I’m ready to move forward in my life.  I have made peace with a lot of things from my past and closed the door on them for good.

Today I am ready to embark on the first day of the rest of my life with the attitude captured in this quote by Doe Zantamata…”There are no footsteps to follow on your path…but that’s where the fun and adventure live.”  That’s what the rest of my life will be …..100% committed to following my own path and enjoying the fun and adventure.  And, communing with nature as often as I can and for as long as I can because in every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks.

Have you communed with nature lately?  If not, I invite you to make time to allow nature to nurture your body, mind, and soul.

Leave a Reply

