Can you Remain Unmoving?

patienceI absolutely love love love this quote.  And, depending upon my frame of mind it can say something different to me each time I read it.  Today it says to me can I remain unmoving?  What does it means to remain unmoving?  One of the official definitions define unmoving as not stirring any emotion.  That’s the one I want to focus on.

My takeaway from this quote today is can I remain still in my emotions until the right action arises of itself.  In other words, can I resist taking score too soon and jumping to conclusions which in turn will stir my emotions.  I think this has been one of the challenging things for me to master in this lifetime…to remain still in my emotions regardless of what I’m observing in my current reality and having the patience to wait until the mud settles and the water is clear.

I wonder what it is about the human mind that resists the time-frame called now (what is).  Why do we think somehow we will finally reach a static destination that will be the “end all”  “be all” and everything will magically be copacetic?  There is no such destination because as soon as we reach whatever our mind tells us is the new “end all” “be all” destination, we will probably do cartwheels and celebrate all of five minutes before we’re restless and in search of the next “end all” “be all”.

In and of itself there is nothing wrong with wanting more.  I believe it is in our DNA to want more.  I think the problem arises in what we choose to do in the moments in between what is and what we desire.  When we choose to resist what is and say to ourselves on some level what is shouldn’t be, we create pain and suffering for ourselves.  When we adopt this attitude in these moments we are not choosing to remain unmoving.  And, we literally drive ourselves and others batshit crazy.

However, when we learn to remain unmoving (still in our emotions) regardless of the circumstances that’s when the real magic happens.  And, what we will discover is that the in-between time is shortened between what is and what we desire.  The children of Israel illustrate this point very well.  Because they couldn’t remain unmoving (still in their emotions) they extended moving from what is (the wilderness) to what they desired (the promised land).

And the result was ‘what is’ (the wilderness) was extended by forty years before they received what they desired (the promised land).  What helps us to remain unmoving?  According to the Bible, having faith and trust in God.  Again, when I’m referencing the Bible it’s not to push religion but to push spiritual practices that I believe helps us to renew our faith and learn to be happy and feel joy regardless of our life circumstances.

I Cor 15:58 admonishes us to be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.  Psalms 62:5-7 encourages us to  wait silently for God alone, for my expectation is from Him.  He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be moved.  In God is my salvation and my glory; The rock of my strength, And my refuge, is in God.

Therefore, I’m reminded today that it is all good.   And to remain unmoving because God/Universe is always conspiring to bless me with my desires and always has my back.  Therefore, with full confidence in God/Universe yes I can have the patience to wait until the muddle  settles and the water is clear.  And, yes I can remain unmoving until the right action arises by itself.

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

