Agree with Thine Adversary Quickly

Hmmmm not sure how this one is going to turn out.  However, this Bible verse has been stuck in my head since the beginning of the week and I knew I wanted to post about it but the words just wouldn’t come to me.  And, again today this Bible verse has been popping in and out of my head all day long.

Therefore, I feel compelled to write and I will attempt to express myself the best way that I can.  The Bible verse is Matthew 5:25 and it says “Agree with thine adversary quickly, whiles thou are in the way with him; lest at any time the adversary deliver thee to the judge, and the judge deliver thee to the officer, and thou be cast into prison.”

I’m no Bible scholar by any stretch of the imagination so I may be taking this scripture out of context and I’m okay with that because it is only my intent to share what this Bible verse has been ministering to me over the past few days.

Let’s start with the meaning of adversary according to Merriam-Webster it means one that contends with opposes, or resists.  I found myself in resistance yet again towards the end of last week and it was causing me to feel some type of way in a major way.

I decided that enough was enough of the negative emotions and predicting gloom and doom for myself.  I decided on Monday to dust myself off and get refocused on things I want in my life instead of allowing myself to indulge in negative thinking and emotions.

Every since I made that decision this Bible verse has been popping in my head.  Here is my takeaway “Agree with your current experiences  that contends with, opposes, or resists the blueprint of anything that you deeply desire quickly when it first appears. (Agree with thine adversary quickly while in the way with him)

Unless at any time your negative thinking shall  compromise your ability to come to sensible conclusions as it relates to your deepest desires and in turn cause you to jump to wild irrational conclusions. (lest at any time the adversary deliver thee to the judge)

And, wild irrational conclusions rehearsed enough times will be recorded in your subconscious mind and create negative emotions. (and the judge deliver thee to the officer)

And, your subconscious mind will work in tandem with the Universe to continuously confine you to repeated unwanted outcomes. (and thou be cast into prison.)

I’m saying all this to say that Matthew 5:25 says to me that the quickest way through potentially negative experiences in life is to agree with them quickly.  How do we agree with them?  By stop resisting what is and to refocus our attention upon what it is that we want.

I have been observing myself this week and each time I get locked into thinking along the lines this shouldn’t be this way, that person shouldn’t act like this, or this decision shouldn’t be made, this person shouldn’t be treating me this way, blah blah blah blah…I find myself landing squarely in the zone of negative emotions and more experiences that create feelings of resistance.

I believe when we agree with all of our experiences and have the attitude that they are ALL inherently leading us some how on the path we want to go, then the less we will feel negative emotions and the more we can relax and enjoy life.  Not to mention the more we do this the more life delivers to our doorstep experiences to help us feel even better.

Again I am truly convince living a resistance free life is the shortest and most direct route to unlock our deepest desires.  I invite you to agree with thine adversary quickly and to flow with the rhythm of life.

two lives

2 thoughts on “Agree with Thine Adversary Quickly

  1. Great article! Thank you for the reminder on the best way to deal with negative experiences My attitude towards them will dictate how I feel. I may not be able to change anything but my attitude and that is what can give me peace and joy. Getting distracted by negative experiences and dwelling on them will cause me to lose focus and keep me from enjoying life.

    1. Thanks! Super glad you took the time to give me feedback. I wasn’t sure how well I expressed myself with this one. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

