The Power to See It Through

see it through

First it was Candy Crush,  now it’s Words with Friends.  I learn so much about myself playing these game apps on my phone.   From the game Words with Friends I have learned the power of seeing it through.  I have been down by as much as 100 points in Words with Friends and the nice little game generator have delivered me letters to go on and win the game in the end.

LOL!  So naturally I thought about life because so many times the current situation staring us in our face can yield overwhelming evidence that we’re not going to get whatever it is we desire.   And, far too often we cease taking action and having the power to see it through.

I can’t tell you how many people have resigned right in the middle of a game just because I have a 60 point or more lead on them.  And, just like those players, many of us in life do the same thing we quit, we resign, we stop taking action just because the current situation appears to be saying you’ll never get what you want.

I agree with the author H.E. Fosdick when he said “The power to see life through to a great conclusion is obviously a matter of patience, and patience is of all virtues one of the most difficult to achieve.” Man, however, likes the microwave way better; he is naturally impatient.  Far too often we want what we want when we want it and unfortunately more times than not we fail to carry on until the finish line.

We like things done that way …pop it in, press a few buttons, wait a few minutes, and presto…ready for consumption!  However, with this attitude we often unfit ourselves to live because it only serves to create resistance to the current situation in our lives.  And, as the popular saying goes “what we resists persists”.

I find the reason why I don’t get myself in a tizzy and have the power to see it through to the end in my Words with Friends game is because I have no attachments to a particular outcome.  I play the game because I enjoy playing it and it’s my main motivation for playing.

I wonder how life might be different for me if I had similar patience and detachment to things I want out of life.  I bet my new found attitude would be “I will persist until I succeed!”  And, I bet as a result I would take action, action, action and eventually I would succeed.  I guess all in all Words with Friends has taught me that patience and detachment are the fuel needed to power us to see it through.

Looks like James would agree with me based on his writings in James 1:2-4 in the Bible.  James says “My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations, knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.  But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.”

Seems like James is saying it’s ALL good. And, for us to avoid calling score too soon based on whatever compelling evidence may be yielded at any given point in time in our current situation.  James is admonishing us to have the power to see it through.

What situation in your life is calling you to have the power to see it through?

4 thoughts on “The Power to See It Through

  1. This blog really helped me at a low point today…exactly what I am feeling when it gets to a point of wanting to “call score too soon”…thank you for your words of wisdom, courage, strength, faith and reminding me…thank you, thank you, thank you for your words….they have deeply affected me. – Love, Crazygirl

    1. Hey Crazygirl!

      Thanks for the feedback on the post. I’m still trying to find my voice and took a chance of just letting the ideas flow. So anytime I get feedback it helps me tremendously!

      Thank you for your words of encouragement! I greatly appreciate them.

      With much love and appreciation,
      Angelyn 💜💜💜

Leave a Reply

