Play Your Winners

too awesome

I caught myself feeling some type of way after being on the receiving end of what I would call blatant rejection from someone I deeply care about this week.  I won’t go into details but I’ve been feeling off kilter all week to the point I started to question and doubt myself.

However, I listened to an audio earlier and it was a segment on there entitled “Play Your Winners” and it spoke volumes to me and my situation.  My energy didn’t shift right away when I first heard it.  It took another exchange with someone else this evening that annoyed me to no end before I recalled that segment in my mind.

I’ve come to the conclusion the way we come out into the world and treat others often times is a reflection of how we treat ourselves in our private moments.  And, far too often people bring their  struggle and fight they have within themselves out into the public and project their internal feelings upon others.

And, if we’re not guarding our hearts with due diligence we can easily fall prey when someone is provoking us into a fight that clearly is one that should belong between them and themselves.   So basically I have two points to make based on my on internal reflections and recent events.

When people don’t treat us right and we recognize that they are the one who owns the problem and not us….then we need to play to our winners so that we remember that life is too awesome to waste time thinking about someone who doesn’t treat us right.  How do we do that?  By recognizing and playing to our strengths.

When we are hit below the belt in our interactions with others that’s the time we need to learn the lesson, dust ourselves off, bounce back and recalibrate by playing to our strengths.  For instance, if your strength is encouraging others then when you find yourself on the short end of the stick as it relates to your interactions with others, then find a way to encourage others all the more.

Is it baking?  Then bake and share your treats with friends and family because I can assure you their smiles and appreciation will be a dose of feel goods to cancel out any potential negative emotions due to someone else’s undesirable behavior.  Is it singing?  Go sing your heart out…karaoke anyone?

Is it writing?  Then write til your heart’s content.  I think you get the picture.  Play your winners and you’ll be too busy to feed any residual mental monsters because someone else doesn’t know how to manage their emotional landscape and keep their toxicity to themselves.

Secondly, my point is make it a habit to play your winners.  I  personally am starting to believe if we make it a priority to play our winners on a daily basis then we don’t put ourselves into a vulnerable position for folks to bring their internal fights to our front door in the first place.

As my Grandaddy used to say….”Accentuate the positives and eliminate the negatives.”  Life is too awesome and too short to allow the negative actions of others consume our hearts and minds.  The best antidote is to play to our winners, forgive and forget.

At least that’s what I plan to do in response to the childish behavior directed towards me this week.  Life is too awesome too waste time on people who are incapable of understanding or communicating their true feelings.  Furthermore, the Universe will bring the right players into my life who also practice on a continual basis playing to their winners.  Because people who make a habit to play to their winners know how to treat others like winners.

My advice is this…. if people don’t treat you right and/or the way you deserve to be treated, then play to your winners, forgive, and forget.  And depending on how chronic the situation is you may want to cut ’em loose and love ’em from a distance too.  No need to keep an emotional wasteland in your front yard let alone your house.  Put the trash out and keep it moving is what I say because the best is yet to come!

optional

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

