Live Just Until Bedtime

http---www.pixteller.com-pdata-t-l-250605

Sometimes life comes at us fast and hard and it’s easy to succumb to worry and anxiety.  As a matter of fact, many of us suffer from worry and anxiety and spend far too much time nursing the past and fueling it with feelings of resentment, bitterness, depression and/or regret.

And if we’re not spending our time in the past, we’ve zoomed out to the future projecting whatever is troubling us out into the future with a negative outcome that will probably never happen while fueling it with feelings of anxiousness, worry, fret, and/or fear.

The other day I was reminded of the importance of living just for today.  And how important it is to focus all of my attention to today and making the most of today so that my future self can be proud of me.

There is a difference between spending time and investing time. Spending time is when we opt to distract ourselves from the present either by living in the past, living in the future, or distracting ourselves with mindless, meaningless technological activities.

Investing time is when we are making conscious choices to make the most of our moments to reap a future residual reward.  Similarly with money we spend it or we invest it.  Spending it means there are no residual rewards for the money that has left our pockets.  Investing it means we receive residual rewards.

For the past two days, I have made it my highest priority to live just until bedtime.  What do I mean by that?  For the past two days, I have only focused on living just for that day with no care for what has happened in the past because it’s over and done with.

And without giving care to the future because it’s not here yet.  I will only focus on today…and living it just until bedtime.  If I focus on today and ensure the following then tomorrow will surely take care of itself:

  1. Making it my highest priority to be happy.  Only I can make myself happy and I do that by consciously focusing my attention and thoughts to things that make me feel happy.  Such as listening to music, laughing as often as possible, and expecting good things to happen for and to me.
  2. Accept it is what it is and what’s done is done. I will take life as it comes and adjust my thinking so that my feelings are consistently on the high end of the emotional scale.
  3. Take optimal care of my body.  If I take care of my body, my body will take care of me.  And a body in motion stays in motion.  Therefore, I will exercise my boy, care for it, nourish it, and not abuse or neglect it. For with good health and strength, all things are possible.
  4. Empower/renew my mind.  What I tell myself each day will either lift me up or tear me down.  It will either give me hope or scare me to death.  Thus, I will learn something useful each day that will strengthen my mind and feed my imagination and fuel it until it becomes an unstoppable, powerful creative force.
  5. Do a good deed. I will do somebody a good turn and when possible do it anonymously.  As Amelia Earheart said, “A single act of kindness throws out roots in all directions and the roots spring up and make new trees.
  6. Put my best foot forward.  I will dress to impress. Act courageously.  Be liberal with praise and avoid criticism/fault finding/blaming.  And possess and attitude of gratitude and give thanks for any and everything.
  7. Live just until bedtime. I will focus my attention on what’s the best use of my time from the time my feet hit the floor in the morning until I go to bed.  Not only the best use of my time but also my mental energy too.  I can do anything just for a day but would be discouraged with the thought of having to do it for a lifetime.
  8. I will set my dominant intentions.  I will write down the top five things I expect to accomplish for that day.  And I will write them down giving thanks for successful completion.  Such as “Thank you for a successful meeting.”  I will use as many positive adjectives as I can to describe the success of each item I have on my list.  Most importantly I will give thanks for receiving good news each day.  I did this one today and the good news I received was that I was given the $300 needed to confirm my son’s admission into the college of his choice.  So I was able to reserve his place and he is now officially enrolled.
  9. I will meditate/relax.  I will reserve the first 30 minutes of my day to quiet my mind and commune with God/Universe via meditation so that I can gain more perspective into my life and get in tuned with my intuition and increase my mental clarity.
  10. I will be unshakable.  I will embrace happiness.  I will take time to enjoy what is beautiful, to love, and to believe those I love, love me.  And have the courage to take action to enrich my life with newer and richer experiences.

Leave a Reply

