I Create My Own Motivation

http---www.pixteller.com-pdata-t-l-478302

It’s hard to believe we only have 147 days left in this year.  I’m left wandering where did all the time go?  And, how far off the mark I am with several of my 2016 goals.  Today I had to have a pep talk with  myself and remind myself that I create my own motivation!  Not sure what I have been waiting on to propel me into action when all I need is within myself.

Goals are the quickest and most reliable way to keep ourselves motivated.  However, it’s not enough just to create the goals.  We must also cultivate a doable plan of action to reach the goals that we set for ourselves.  And then break them down into daily goals.  What goals do you have for yourself for 2016?  Are you on track to reach them?  If not, what are you waiting for?  We have 147 days, 21 weeks, 4 months and 25 days to make it happen.

I decided to do the following five things to create my own motivation for my highest goal that I want to achieve by December 31, 2016:

  • Set a measurable goal

My top goal for the remainder of this year is to lose 30 – 40 lbs.  I took my body measurements, weighed myself, and took photos of my current state.  Each month I intend to lose 8 to 10 lbs each month in order to reach my overall goal.Created multiple indicators of success

  • Create multiple indicators of success

I won’t solely rely on the scale to indicate success. This is how we trip ourselves up when we decide that there is only one factor that indicates success.  Instead I will look for and record non-scale victories such as more room in my clothes, increased energy, increased endurance, reduced inches, feeling healthier, better moods, positive feedback/compliments from others,easier to make better and healthier choices, being more positive, increased physical abilities.

  • Cultivated a daily action plan to help me reach my goal

My daily action plan will include but is not limited to the following: consume 3 liters of water per day, consume 3 fruits daily, consume 3 veggies daily, consume daily minimum requirement of fiber, listen to/read something positive/uplifting daily, track my food consumption and activity level using Sparkpeople, check in with my accountability partner(s) daily, and exercise for an hour at least five days per week.

  • Developed a way to track my progress

I will use my Nike app on my phone to track my performance level each time I go for a run/walk and use Sparkpeople to track my caloric expenditures each time I exercise.  I will also use Sparkpeople to track my caloric intake.  I will weigh myself weekly.  Measure myself monthly.  And try on this one outfit I want to get back into weekly. 🙂

  • Elicit accountability partners

I have two friends who have committed to keeping me accountable to my goals.

What is the one major goal you want to accomplish before year’s end?  I’m sure these five steps will help you to create your own motivation and keep you on track to reaching them.  Here’s to creating our own motivation and staying on track to reach our goals by December 31, 2016!

Cheers! ♥♥♥

One Comment

Leave a Reply

