Discipline Begets Discipline

bd42bdcc5ff0c30e36da32268f8786c4

It is amazing how when we set an intention and follow through and become disciplined with just one thing how it influences us to incrementally become more and more disciplined in other areas of our lives as well.

I don’t know about you but I tend to either run high on discipline or I backslide into lazy mode and can’t seem to get myself to follow through on anything.  Consequently, the latter state destroys my  self-trust, self-confidence, and will power.  The more I say I’m going to do something and don’t follow through the more I doubt myself.

Self-trust definitely is the resolve to do.  It’s challenging to make changes particularly in an area that we have gotten sloppy and lazy in.  For me that’s weight management, I’ve carried this excess weight for so long, I was starting to accept it and say oh well that’s the way that it is.  But, I deserve better than that from myself.  And I most certainly can and will do better.

A sound mind deserves a sound body and vice versa.  I finally have gotten myself unstuck. I chose five things that no matter what this month that I will be intentional in completing them.  And what I have noticed is that the discipline exerted for those five things has now extended and I’m finding myself being disciplined in other areas as well.

Here are five tips for getting unstuck:

  1. Challenged yourself – not only did I challenge myself but  I also invited the other ladies in my facebook group to join me.  I challenged myself  by choosing five things that I will do without fail each and every day during the month of January.  You don’t have to make this a big item.  It can be something as simple as make your bed, drink at least 2 liters of water, walk for 15 minutes each day, meditate for 15 minutes, say/write an affirmation, do one pushup, keep a hotspot cleaned (you know that place where you put one piece of paper or an item of clothing an it becomes a magnet for other stuff).
  2. Get an accountability partner – I’m blessed to have accountability partners in my choosing4me FB group.  I love it because it’s exciting to hear how others are following through with their challenge to themselves and to receive/give encouragement when  the mind wants to say no I’ve had enough of this discipline thing.
  3. Write it down and review it daily – I write a checklist each day of my five things and check them off at the end of each day. Again it’s amazing how being discipline with the simplest things will spread into other areas.
  4. Imagine the outcome – picture how different your life will be after being disciplined with at least one thing each day.  If you can find pictures of what the outcome would look like that’s all the better.
  5. Celebrate your progress – remember this is not about being perfect and doing it all without fail.  It’s about progress and doing it more times than not.  It’s about cultivating consistency, building self-trust, and creating positive momentum. I like weekly celebrations versus waiting until the end.  I shall celebrate with an hour massage at the end of this week and I’m soooooo looking forward to it too.

Self-care feels good and when we’re discipline and we keep agreements with ourselves and regularly give ourselves love and attention, it really is a recipe for harmony, ease, confidence, love, success, freedom, and happiness.

Cheers! ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

