Lessons from It Works

I read a book last year entitled “It Works” by RHJ.  It was a really good read and I did practice for a few days what was recommended in the book and then fell off the wagon.  While tidying up my room, I came across the book  again.  And was reminded of the lessons I learned from this book.

As many new thought authors, he too promotes the premise “If you KNOW what you WANT you can HAVE IT”.  It’s a very short book and  I found it to be very encouraging and it definitely charged my batteries and help me to be optimistic when I employed the three practices suggested by the author.

We’ve heard it time and time again that if we can train our waking mind (the mind we use each day) also referred to as the objective mind or conscious mind to decide definitely upon the things or conditions we desire, then that’s the first significant step toward getting what we want.

However from my studies we have to train it in such a way that it sends subtle, non-resistant thoughts to our subjective mind or sub-conscious mind to accept and believe it is true and to go to work on our behalf to draw these things to us.  Most authors concur that somehow someway there is an inner part of man that rendezvous with a powerful energy that is capable and willing to orchestrate on our behalf to bring to us every earnest desire of our objective mind.

However, if we only do it occasionally, half-heartedly, and/or oscillate in our thinking then we do not form a perfect connection or communication with this omnipotent powerful energy.  We must earnestly, sincerely, and honestly desire certain conditions or things whether it is mental, physical, or spiritual.

I believe this is the most challenging part to keep our waking minds focused and locked in on the target.  It has such a tendency to vacillate which only serves to water down our intentions to mere wishes and renders this wonderful, capable power impotent to function on our behalf.

If you are earnest about changing your present conditions, here are  some lessons I learned from this book that I encourage you to employ to aid in the actualization of your dreams:

  1. Decide what you want – this sounds much easier than it is.  To me deciding means you’re willing to make it a priority in regards to your attention.  In other words you’re willing to devote the time to focus on what you want in a positive way.  I’ve discovered that I put forth a very distinct effort and energy when I earnestly want something versus a like to have.
  2. Make a list – write a list of the things you desire and prioritize them by order of importance to you.  And commit to reading it morning, noon, and night and give no direct thought as to how it will come to pass.  Instead tune into your intuition so that you will recognize when you’re inspired to act.
  3. Think of it often – throughout your day think often of what it is you desire and engage your imagination to form a picture of the desired outcome.  Most importantly keep it positive and do not allow negative thoughts to creep in.
  4. Keep it private – do not talk to others about your plan.  Keep your plans/desires between you and the great power within you that communicates and connects with the higher omnipotent power.  As mention in lesson 2, this higher power will unfold to your objective mind the method of accomplishment.  The trick is to let it guide you instead of trying to tell it how it must be accomplished.

I don’t know about you but I’m going to do this at least until the end of the month and see what happens.  I like conducting experiments to see what works and what doesn’t.  I think it will be a good companion for my “Be Intentional” challenge this month.  What do you think?  Will you try it too?

Leave a Reply

